2021 Edition

2021 STINT Workshop

The 2021 edition of the Space-Terrestrial Internetworking workshop (STINT) focuses on efforts discussing:

  • Solution of general, theoretical problems seeking to expand the knowledge and understanding in the fundamentals of space-terrestrial networking.
  • Solution of specific, practical problems such as products, procedures or services for space-terrestrial networking.

Location and Dates

STINT will be held at the 8th IEEE International Conference on Space Mission Challenges for Information Technology (SMC-IT 2021), occuring in full on-line mode on July 27-29, 2021. Important dates as follows:

  • Paper submission deadline: February 28 March 15, 2021
  • Paper notification: April 15, 2021
  • Invited talk proposal deadline: May 1, 2021
  • Discussion topic proposal deadline: May 1, 2021
  • Paper camera ready: May 7, 2021
  • Workshop: July 27-29, 2020

Scope and Overview

Full research papers, invited talks and discussion topics are solicited for the protocols, applications, and operational concepts required to make these internetworks both technically feasible and operationally deployable. Specifically, STINT welcomes researchers and practitioners in the following areas.

  • Modeling and dynamics of mobile space-based for optical\RF networks
  • Autonomous configuration and control of network nodes
  • Protocols, applications, and concepts for network management
  • Adaptive networking technologies (e.g., SDN, ICN)
  • Delay- and disruption-tolerant networking
  • Store-and-forward routing, congestion modeling, and topological synchronization
  • Deep Space Networks and the solar system Internet
  • End-to-end security services across an internetworking overlay
  • Commercial/scientific/government mission concepts enabled by internetworks
  • Optical network availability, resilience and survivability
  • Optical network using photonic integrated circuits
  • Optical time and frequency transfer
  • Internet of Things from space solutions

Paper Format and Submission Instructions

STINT follows the guidelines for paper and poster submissions for the IEEE SMC-IT conference. Make sure to select STINT Mini-Workshop topic/track during submission. Specifically,

  • Accepted and presented papers will be submitted to IEEE Xplore as well as other indexing databases.
  • Full papers (up to 8 pages) will be considered.
  • Papers and posters must be written in English and prepared in Portable Document Format (PDF).
  • Papers and posters must be formatted according to the standard IEEE two-column format with single-spaced, ten-point font text (templates available at IEEE SMC-IT).
  • All figures, tables, references etc. are included in the page limit.
  • All fonts must be embedded into the PDF file.
  • The authors/presenters abide by the podium and publish requirement (i.e., papers not presented at the conference will not be published in IEEE Xplore).
  • Submission via this link to OpenConf. Make sure to select STINT Mini-Workshop topic/track during submission.

Expert Talk Submission Instructions

STINT accepts talks not necesarily supported by technical papers. To propose a talk (20 minutes duration plus 10 for Q&A) please provide a title, an abstract and presenting speaker name, affiliation and bio to before May 1, 2021.

Panel Discussion Topic Submission Instructions

STINT accepts proposal for controversial or not settled hypothesis around space networking to be discussed with public participation during the workshop. To propose a topic please provide a title, an abstract, and (optionally) name of the promoter to before May 1, 2021.

Organizing Committee Members

  • Juan A. Fraire (Inria/CONICET, Saarland U)
  • Marius Feldmann (D3TN, UTD)
  • Scott C. Burleigh (JPL, NASA)
  • Edward J. Birrane (APL)

Technical Program Committee

  • Lars Wolf (Universität Braunschweig)
  • Jeremy Pierce Mayer (GMV)
  • Andrea Hess (SICS Swedish ICT, Sweden)
  • Karin Anna Hummel (JKU Linz, Austria)
  • Eiko Yoneki (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Xiaolan Zhang (Fordham University, USA)
  • Anders Lindgren (SICS Swedish ICT, Sweden)
  • Fabio Dovis (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
  • Stephen Farrell (Trinity College Dublin, Ireland)
  • Joerg Ott (Technische Universität München, Germany)
  • Jonas Höchst (Universität Marburg, Germany)
  • Holger Hermanns (Saarland University, Germany)